Charter Standard

Charter Standard

Proud to support places where people 
want to play football

Welcome to the FA charter standard

Proud to support places where people want to play football 

The FA has a clear vision to educate, empower, enable and equip leagues and clubs to

‘be the best places for people to play and enjoy football’

The FA Charter Standard programme exists to positively improve people’s football experience through league and club accreditation. The FA embarks on a journey to grow, develop and support a collaborative and sustainable club and league network which unites communities by providing opportunities FOR ALL.

It recognises and rewards leagues and clubs who own their game. Those who play their part in making their football environment safe, fun and inclusive; by raising standards, raising awareness and taking action, making accreditation worthwhile to be part of.

The FA Charter Standard accreditation is built to last.


Be the best

The FA Charter Standard programme wants you to be the best place for your football community to play and enjoy football.  Whether you’re a league or a club it promotes your commitment and dedication and ensures you will be around for seasons to come.

Becoming accredited is a simple process supported by our dedicated County FA officers who are local experts in clubs and leagues development. As a team we ensure your ambitions are achievable with accreditation at the centre of all you do.

The criteria means you commit to providing the best on-pitch environment by getting relevant people qualified. This ensures you are structured to achieve your goals and are built to last.

Due to the impact of COVID-19 on the game and our ability to deliver face to face education, we have introduced an interim criteria for the 2020/21 season. For more information please navigate to the end of this article.

If you’re interested in achieving The FA Charter Standard accreditation, or just want to find out more, let’s have a conversation, please contact Kim Stenning on 

Stay the best

For the 2020/21 season we have decided to extend all FA Charter Standard accredited clubs who either renewed their accreditation as part of the 2019/20 annual health check process or for those clubs who became a newly accredited club during the 2019/20 season.

There will be no annual health check process for the 2020/21 season. During October we will move accredited club’s renewal date forward to the 2021/22 season. We recognise the reason accredited clubs are the best places to play and enjoy the game is because of the criteria you adhere to and satisfy season on season, even raising standards where possible. Therefore, we have introduced an interim criteria to support your clubs to make sure the relevant individuals can still educate and equip themselves to provide a safe, fun and inclusive environment for all to enjoy.

Interim FA Charter Standard club accreditation criteria 2020/21

For the 2020/21 season interim requirements for The FA Charter Standard club accreditation criteria (coaching, first aid and safeguarding) have been introduced as COVID-19 has impacted on The FA’s and County FA’s ability to offer face to face education.

Whilst long term plans are being made to offer alternative, sustainable delivery models it is necessary to make temporary changes. These apply for new and existing FA Charter Standard accredited clubs.

We encourage all clubs to explore the opportunity to become FA Charter Standard accredited.  We want them to qualify the relevant individuals to make the on-pitch environment a safe place and put in place the policies and documents off-pitch to make sure they are built to last. When the time comes there will be an expectation and commitment for all accredited clubs to get back to, maintain or raise the standards and requirements that make The FA’s kitemark accreditation programme PROUD to be the best.

To view the interim criteria for 2020-21 please download document below;

Get In Touch

Football Services 

By Phone: 02392 573032

By Email:


Any club can get the support they need to apply for FA Charter Standard accreditation. FA Charter Standard accreditation demonstrates how clubs, leagues, volunteers, players play their part in providing fun, safe and inclusive football opportunities for all.

As a minimum clubs must be affiliated to Royal Navy FA and have at least one team playing in an FA sanctioned league. 

The criteria are outlined within the application form. There are different criteria for both. Broadly the criteria are based around having the following in place. 

  • Code of conduct and operational policies
  • Links, Pathways & Development Plans

These criteria are designed to make clubs in the best place possible to play and enjoy football.

Higher levels of accreditation are available to clubs who offer above the minimum criteria. Clubs who achieve Community or Development status are given access to greater levels of support, benefits and equipment.

The precise criteria to become an FA Charter Standard League is identified below;  

  • 60% of registered teams are members of FA Charter Standard clubs
  • Demonstrate support for new teams to achieve FA Charter Standard status
  • Supporting and implementing The FA’s Respect campaign
  • Having a league referees’ officer
  • Demonstrate active link to another league to support player development and transitional pathways
  • After 3 years, have a minimum of 85% teams as members of FA Charter Standard clubs

Working together with Navy FA, we help make sure you are delivering the best offer possible for players to play in a safe, fun and inclusive environment and support for the people who help run your teams.

Clubs should contact Royal Navy FA to apply for FA Charter Standard status. 

Clubs work in partnership with Royal Navy FA to demonstrate and work toward meeting the accreditation criteria. Help and support is available from our team of experienced staff.

We will then work together to complete an FA Charter Standard application form and Navy FA will review your application and supporting evidence with a number of experienced individuals within the game. If a club meets the criteria they are awarded a relevant level of accreditation. Support is available to help clubs meet the standard.

Leagues should contact Royal Navy FA to register an interest in achieving FA Charter Standard status. This is done by completing an FA Charter Standard League Registration form.

Royal Navy FA will then organise a meeting where we can help audit and assess your league. As part of this meeting we will identify outstanding objectives against the criteria and help leagues work toward meeting these.

It’s free! The FA and County FAs do not charge to become accredited. Clubs also receive benefits and incentives to achieve, maintain and progress their FA Charter Standard status.

A club’s accreditation lasts for one season. An annual health check must be completed each year to review a club’s status. The FA Charter Standard accreditation may be withdrawn if a club has a poor disciplinary record or no longer meets the criteria.

Clubs which achieve FA Charter Standard status can be proud to be the best place for people to play and enjoy football. They are able to demonstrate they offer positive football environments where people can develop their skills, keep fit and enjoy playing as part of a friendly, inclusive community.

FA Charter Standard clubs receive access to benefits that will help to attract and retain players, volunteers and supporters. The level of support and resources you receive will depend on the level of accreditation a club achieves. Benefits clubs experience include:

- Attract and retain players, supporters and volunteers
- Funding for football equipment
- Access to promotional resources and guidance
- Tailored support from The FA and County FAs

Related Articles

View All